Maybe, Baby, It’s May!

This is a random kind of newsletter, filled with things that I’ve found while wandering the net, and just things.

Spicy Barley with Broccoli and Cheddar Cheese

I snapped this as I was making a quick lunch the other day. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m lazy? So I like having some cooked grains in the freezer. Then it’s just a matter of getting out an individual serving an hour earlier so it can defrost, and frying it quickly in a little olive oil. I used cumin and smoked paprika to spice the barley and tossed in some broccoli. Once it was off the heat I added tiny chunks of cheddar cheese. Yum!

Choosing An Alien

When I was plotting Her Robot Wolf, I had to invent a number of aliens. It was fun, but I saved the best inspiration for some very special aliens that you’ll meet soon. I based them on super-intelligent octopuses – and yes, octopuses really are smart!

Australia Has Some Ancient Trees

Just a simple link to the article on ancient Australian trees, but the Australian Geographic site is generally worth checking out. Gorgeous pics.

Kindle Unlimited Discoveries

A fun new series by Alisha Klapheke. How can you resist a fantasy that involves magic and pirates? Waters of Salt & Sin was a great read.

From the blurb: “The epic setting of Game of Thrones meets the humor and romance of Pirates of the Caribbean in this new series! Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Sarah J. Maas.”

If you prefer crime novels, The Pick, The Spade and the Crow by Bill Rogers was a solid British mystery.

Fire Fall – Summer in the Rocky Mountains

It’s less than a month till the release of Fire Fall on May 26. You can pre-order it now for 99c. This Rocky Mountains romance has tons of romance, some distinctly different characters (they’re not all human!) and a sizzling hot attraction between Seth and Vanessa. Three years ago, she was involved with someone else, and he walked away. But he never forgot her. When fate brings them together again, he’ll do anything to keep her safe. High intensity magic, and even hotter passion.

Fire Fall pre-order link: https://www.amazon.com/Fire-Fall-Old-School-Book-ebook/dp/B06Y3Q8Z3F/

4 Replies to “Maybe, Baby, It’s May!”

  1. re: frozen grains
    Oh, that’s me. Sometimes I think the only reason I cook is because of the husband. God knows I’d never go through that much trouble for myself. 🙂

Comments?