Happy Snaps and a May Sale!

On a glorious autumn day, I took a stroll by the river. (Scroll down for an awesome romance book sale with over 25 novels at 99c each).

The sky and river were both overwhelmingly blue.
I wasn’t the only one enjoying the sunshine.
A fallen tree, still beautiful.
A fallen tree, still beautiful.

It might be heading into winter here, but the garden is flowering as if it’s spring! These are all self-sown flowers: nasturtiums, snapdragons and stocks. Even the violets are from seeds that drifted from their original bed.

Last year I sowed “peaches and cream” nasturtiums. This year I have a crimson jewel!
This is fairly close to the original “peaches and cream” from last year.
Sweet, subtle fragrance to this snapdragon
Stocks always seem old-fashioned to me. But lovely.
I love finding violets in the garden

Romance Novels on Sale, May 13 & 14

 

Romance eBook Sale at Amazon — over 25 books at 99c each.

Kindle Unlimited Discoveries

These aren’t really discoveries…

If you’re a Kindle Unlimited subscriber and haven’t already read my short romantic fantasy novellas, they’re all in there:

Beauty Conquers the Beast

Up In Flames

Fantasy Man

The Lion and the Mouse

Release the Djinni

Dark Oasis

Fire Rose

Embracing the Ghoul

Denying the Dragon

The Crocodile Virgin

Her Robot Wolf

I’m having an absolute blast writing Her Robot Wolf. Professor Summer has to be the most unique academic you’ll ever encounter. And wait till you enter Proper University! Ooh, an university of aliens is so cool 🙂

 

 

Approaching Mid Year, How Is 2017 Treating You?

How’s the year been treating you? In my corner of the world, we’re heading into winter. I’m braced for cold winds and, hopefully, a lot of rain. We’re desperately behind in our rainfall. If you’re in the northern hemisphere, you’ll have summer plans. If any rain sneaks into them, just send it south to me, please!

Book-wise, 2017 has been treating me really well. My writing and publishing schedule is on track (Fire Fall will be out May 26) and I’ve read some great books. Plus, on May 30, I finally get to read the sequel to Ilona Andrews’ Burn For Me. I’ve been waiting for White Hot for over a year!

In the wider world (there’s a world outside of books, who’d a thought? 😉 ) there’s been some desperately sad world news and the politicians are frustrating, but the everyday kindness of the people I encounter is a positive, life-affirming balance.

I haven’t done anything radical – like colour my hair in unicorn rainbow fashion, which is a real thing and I’m hugely tempted to try. It would finally make my grey hair an asset. I bet it would show off the dye beautifully. Still, I’m a bit too shy. But even without doing anything radical, I’m happy and healthy, and I hope you are too.

Happy Mid Year!

Kindle Unlimited Discoveries

Read It FREE in Kindle Unlimited, May 8-21

So many great books in this promotion – and the best thing with my Kindle Unlimited subscription is that I can read them ALL without breaking my book budget.

amanda m lee, kindle unlimitedI recently picked up The Bigfoot Blunder by Amanda M. Lee. It’s the first book in her new Charlie Rhodes series, which is a spin-off from her hugely successful Wicked Witches of the MidWest series.

I enjoy the escapism of Ms Lee’s novels. There’s a mystery in each, but it’s mild. The real charm is in the cast of characters, their banter and the easy-read entertainment. It’s like a favourite TV sitcom: I just have to sit down and enjoy.

As an author, I’m impressed by how Ms Lee has handled moving on from her incredibly successful series. The number of adventures one character can have without getting stale (unless they’re Nancy Drew) is often limited, especially if there’s not a powerful growth arc (quest) driving the series. By starting a new heroine with a new focus (not a witch), but linking her to an established town and characters, I think Ms Lee has found the best of all worlds: new and fresh, within an established fictional town, with plenty of cameos from beloved characters.

Free for Everyone on Amazon

Demelza Carlton’s writing some fabulous fairytale retellings. Awaken, a tale of Sleeping Beauty with an intriguing twist, is free till May 12.

.

.

Brief Detour Into Art

I recently, randomly, started following a Twitter account for Alfred Sisley, the long-dead Impressionist painter, which has reminded me how much I love that style. Do you have a favourite artist or style? Any art sites that you look at? I subscribe to the newsletter ArtDaily, but lately, haven’t been reading it daily. Sometimes I think we need two lifetimes to fit in everything – or maybe three lifetimes! So I guess, if I was to make any new mid-year resolutions, it would be to squeeze in a little more time just to sit and look at beautiful things.

Maybe, Baby, It’s May!

This is a random kind of newsletter, filled with things that I’ve found while wandering the net, and just things.

Spicy Barley with Broccoli and Cheddar Cheese

I snapped this as I was making a quick lunch the other day. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m lazy? So I like having some cooked grains in the freezer. Then it’s just a matter of getting out an individual serving an hour earlier so it can defrost, and frying it quickly in a little olive oil. I used cumin and smoked paprika to spice the barley and tossed in some broccoli. Once it was off the heat I added tiny chunks of cheddar cheese. Yum!

Choosing An Alien

When I was plotting Her Robot Wolf, I had to invent a number of aliens. It was fun, but I saved the best inspiration for some very special aliens that you’ll meet soon. I based them on super-intelligent octopuses – and yes, octopuses really are smart!

Australia Has Some Ancient Trees

Just a simple link to the article on ancient Australian trees, but the Australian Geographic site is generally worth checking out. Gorgeous pics.

Kindle Unlimited Discoveries

A fun new series by Alisha Klapheke. How can you resist a fantasy that involves magic and pirates? Waters of Salt & Sin was a great read.

From the blurb: “The epic setting of Game of Thrones meets the humor and romance of Pirates of the Caribbean in this new series! Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Sarah J. Maas.”

If you prefer crime novels, The Pick, The Spade and the Crow by Bill Rogers was a solid British mystery.

Fire Fall – Summer in the Rocky Mountains

It’s less than a month till the release of Fire Fall on May 26. You can pre-order it now for 99c. This Rocky Mountains romance has tons of romance, some distinctly different characters (they’re not all human!) and a sizzling hot attraction between Seth and Vanessa. Three years ago, she was involved with someone else, and he walked away. But he never forgot her. When fate brings them together again, he’ll do anything to keep her safe. High intensity magic, and even hotter passion.

Fire Fall pre-order link: https://www.amazon.com/Fire-Fall-Old-School-Book-ebook/dp/B06Y3Q8Z3F/

A Spring Into Spring Book Sale, the Readers Rock Mega Event and News on Her Robot Wolf

Oh, I have good stuff for you today! Two awesome book sales, a book with a fire-breathing unicorn shifter, and if you scroll to the end of the post, the draft blurb for Her Robot Wolf. Plus, I saw pelicans!

The Readers Rock Mega Event presents over 200 books (mostly romance novels) at 99c each. That’s perfect if you’re staying inside to escape spring/autumn hayfever – I hope you’re not suffering from it!

The Spring into Romance Book Sale runs April 27-29 with some gorgeous romance novels – all at 99c.

Kindle Unlimited Discoveries

Blood Moon by Lena Hillbrand and Lena Mae Hill has an interesting twist on vampires and a world in which they’re in charge. For those of you who aren’t Kindle Unlimited subscribers, I think it’s only 99c today – enjoy!
pnr, kindle unlimited, paranormal romance,

A fire-snorting, C4-chewing unicorn – and that’s just the heroine! (when she’s transformed). I loved the craziness of Playing with Fire by R.J. Blain. I admit, I also cried while reading it, just at one point, near the beginning, which is proof of how into the story I was.

 

New Release

Prowlers and Growlers: A Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy Collection with stories from bestselling authors has just released, and the huge boxset is only 99c!

I wish I could have taken a better photo, but it was difficult to bring them into focus fast enough. I was at the beach the other day, and it had visitors. I love pelicans. One of them landed and sidled up to a pair of fishermen. “Hey, mister, can you spare a fish?” So adorable.

.

Draft Blurb for Her Robot Wolf

Jaya Romanov is an independent star ship shaman. She studies the energy flows of the universe and—for a price—will harness them to her employer’s purpose. Wormholes are a whole lot safer to travel when a shaman guides the jump.

Vulf Trent is a bounty hunter. It was that or join the family business, piracy, and Vulf is too much the lone wolf to tolerate the demands of a large pirate crew. Where his family enjoys the bonds of pack, he prefers the freedom of ranging the universe, alone.

Seven generations ago, humanity evacuated Earth and the shifter clans’ ability to transform into their primal animal forms was one of the most terrible losses of that time. Now, the werewolves, werebears and other shifters are trapped in their human bodies and slowly losing the essence of their primal souls. Jaya is determined to heal their torn transformational abilities, but Vulf doesn’t believe her.

He didn’t kidnap her for her healing abilities.

Pre-order link soon!

Beauty Conquers the Beast – NEW and FREE April 23-24

I have a bonus story for you! Beauty Conquers the Beast is a twist on the original fairytale of “Beauty and the Beast”. It’s free Sunday April 23 and Monday April 24 – and always free to read in Kindle Unlimited. Grab it today!

Happy reading!

fairy tale romance, pnr, kindle unlimited,

Lady Nora and Prince Alexander were never friends, and she can’t think of anyone more deserving of the curse that made him the Beast of the Sighaway Forest. But when six princesses from neighboring kingdoms fail to break the curse, it’s more than just the big and brutish Alexander who is suffering.

For her country, and out of an overdeveloped sense of duty, Nora will enter the beast’s castle. She’ll fight mysterious magic and confront the secrets of her heart, but the elusive beast remains untamable.

The shocking solution to breaking the curse will change Nora’s life forever.

Beauty Conquers the Beast is a short romantic fantasy.

Amazon exclusive: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071CY33FH/